RISE recognitions


Our faculty and students are “rising stars” and have been recognized with awards from ASU, nationally, and internationally.

ASU Vince Walron



Vince Waldron: 2020 recipient of the Robert J. Kibler Memorial Award from the National Communication Association (https://asunow.asu.edu/20200911-asu-professor-wins-prestigious-award-national-communication-association)






Thao Ha


Thao Ha: Recently awarded one of APS’ Rising Star Awards (https://asunow.asu.edu/20200811-asu-professor-wins-rising-star-award-association-psychological-science)




Deborah Hall





 Deborah Hall & Yasin Silva: Awarded a large NSF grant for their research project, (PI Silva NSF 2036127) “SaTC: CORE: Small: Interdisciplinary Models to Identify and Understand Cyberbullying.” 








Sarah Lindstrom Johnson


Sarah Lindstrom Johnson: Received a grant from the Institute of Educational Sciences to develop a trauma-informed parent engagement program for schools. This 4-year $1.4 million dollar award will allow for the adaption of the evidence-based program, Positive Family Supports, to better meet the needs of students and families facing adversity. Specifically, by helping schools recognize the impact of adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) on learning as well as supporting family-school partnerships to improve home and school learning environments we hope to address the social determinants of education. 



Ashley Randall



 Ashley Randall: Received one of APA’s Division 52 (International Psychology) Outstanding Early Career Awards (https://div52.net/awards/




COVID-19 information

Fall 2021 Update page  |  FAQ page   | Novel coronavirus updates